» » Tom Waits - Swordfishtrombones
Tom Waits - Swordfishtrombones album download
Tom Waits - Swordfishtrombones album download
Performer: Tom Waits
Title: Swordfishtrombones
Released: 1985
Rating: 4.6/5
FLAC size: 1830 mb | MP3 size: 1273 mb | WMA size: 1541 mb
Genre: Blues

Swordfishtrombones is the seventh studio album by American singer-songwriter Tom Waits, released in September 1983. It was the first album that Waits produced himself. Stylistically different from his previous LPs, the album moves away from the piano and string orchestra arrangements of the late 1970s, replacing them instead with unusual instrumentation and a somewhat more abstract songwriting approach.

Released September 1, 1983. Swordfishtrombones Tracklist. 1. Underground (Original) Lyrics. Tom also adds a narrative to the album about his wife, musician Kathleen Brennan, whom he married in 1980. They had an intense relationship, and sources say Kathleen kept a close eye on his work, which is most likely what motivated him to include her in his storytelling. It all comes together to show not what Swordfishtrombones is, but more what it can do. Smay can hardly contain himself on the page, and he lets his ideas run wild, giving us a mosaic of a Tom Waits that we haven’t quite seen before. Where Kathleen (his wife) was Tom’s muse for the album, the album is Smay’s muse to discuss the idea of inevitable confession.

Swordfishtrombones has a certain atmosphere that is difficult to pick out. Tom creates a gloomy and eerie feel but the music isn’t overly depressing. I suppose that most of these songs sound dreary and have sort of a creepy crawly feel to them. He can go from a soft piano driven ballad to a loud, crunchy rock song. This was a big issue at first, but after multiple listens you sort of adapt to the way that Waits arranges the songs

The best choice for a starting point to get into probably the most imaginative singer/songwriter there is. I don't think Waits has ever created a full piece that balances the sounds of his early, crooner era and his freakish, era as well as this, so I can.

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Underground
Baritone Horn – Randy AldcroftMarimba [Bass] – Victor Feldman
A2 Shore Leave
Banjo, Guitar – Fred TackettMarimba, Marimba [Bass], Shaker, Bass Drum [Bass Drum With Rice] – Victor FeldmanPercussion [Metal Aunglongs] – Francis ThummPerformer [Chair] – Tom WaitsPerformer [Metal Aunglongs] – Francis ThummTrombone – Randy Aldcroft
A3 Dave The Butcher
Organ [Hammond B-3] – Tom WaitsPercussion [Bass Boo Bams] – Victor Feldman
A4 Johnsburg, Illinois
Bass – Greg Cohen
A5 16 Shells From A Thirty-Ought-Six
Drum [Brake Drum], Percussion [Bell Plate], Snare – Victor FeldmanGuitar – Fred TackettTrombone – Joe Romano
A6 Town With No Cheer
Bagpipes – Anthony Clark StewartHarmonium [Vocal Harmonium], Synthesizer, Bells [Freedom Bell] – Tom WaitsProgrammed By [Synthesizer Program] – Clark Spangler
A7 In The Neighborhood
Baritone Horn – Randy AldcroftBass Drum [Parade Drum], Cymbal – Stephen Taylor Arvizu Hodges*Organ [Hammond B-3], Snare [Snaredrum], Bells – Victor FeldmanTrombone – Bill Reichenbach , Dick (Slyde) Hyde*
B1 Just Another Sucker On The Vine
Harmonium – Tom WaitsTrumpet – Joe Romano
B2 Frank's Wild Years
Organ [Hammond] – Ronnie BarronRecorded By – Tim Boyle
B3 Swordfishtrombone
Electric Bass – Larry Taylor
B4 Down, Down, Down
Electric Guitar – Carlos GuitarlosOrgan – Eric BikalesSnare, Tambourine – Victor Feldman
B5 Soldier's Things 3:15
B6 Gin Soaked Boy
Electric Guitar – Fred Tackett
B7 Trouble's Braids
Bass Drum [Parade Bass Drum] – Stephen Taylor Arvizu Hodges*Drums [African Talking Drum] – Victor Feldman
B8 Rainbirds
Glass Harmonica – Francis Thumm, Richard Gibbs, Stephen Taylor Arvizu Hodges*Piano – Tom Waits

Companies, etc.

  • Manufactured By – Island Records Of Canada Ltd.
  • Distributed By – MCA Records (Canada)


  • Acoustic Bass – Greg Cohen (tracks: B3, B5, B8), Larry Taylor (tracks: A1, A2, A5, A7, B2, B4, B6, B7)
  • Arranged By – Francis Thumm (tracks: A1, A4, A7, B8), Tom Waits
  • Art Direction – Frank Mulvey
  • Artwork [Cover Concept], Design – Michael Russ, Tom Waits
  • Drums – Stephen Taylor Arvizu Hodges* (tracks: A1, A2, A5, B4, B6)
  • Engineer [Assistant] – Bill Jackson, Peggy McCreary, Richard McKernon*
  • Illustration [Photo Illustration], Photography By [Inner Sleeve Photo] – Michael Russ
  • Mastered By – Jeff Sanders
  • Mixed By – Biff Dawes
  • Producer – Tom Waits
  • Recorded By – Biff Dawes (tracks: A1 to B1, B3 to B8)
  • Vocals – Tom Waits (tracks: A1, A2, A4 to A7, B2 to B7)
  • Written-By – Tom Waits


Manufactured by Island Records of Canada Ltd./Distributed by MCA Records (Canada) 2450 Victoria Park Ave., Willowdale, Ontario /All Rights Reserved

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
90095-1 Tom Waits Swordfishtrombones ‎(LP, Album) Island Records 90095-1 US 1983
842 469-4 Tom Waits Swordfishtrombones ‎(Cass, Album) PolyGram 842 469-4 France 1983
205 774 Tom Waits Swordfishtrombones ‎(LP, Album, RE) Island Records 205 774 Europe 1986
842 469-2, IMCD 48 Tom Waits Swordfishtrombones ‎(CD, Album, RE) Island Records, Island Masters 842 469-2, IMCD 48 UK & Europe 1989
ILPS 9762 Tom Waits Swordfishtrombones ‎(LP, Album) Island Records ILPS 9762 UK 1983